Thanks by the thousands — plus $1.5 million


G. Thomas Upshaw | President & CEO

THREE THOUSAND THANK-YOU’S — 3,809 to be precise—to the Palmetto Electric members who attended our Annual Meeting May 4.

Mind you, that’s just the number of members we registered in attendance. We also enjoyed seeing their family members, all part of our extended co-op family. For those who couldn’t attend, here’s a recap:

Sharing the credit(s) — We’re returning more than $1.5 million in capital credits to members who received service in 1983 and/or 2012. That’s big news, of course, but another accomplishment we’re proud of is our 2012 American Customer Satisfaction Index score, ranking Palmetto Electric higher than the national average for electric co-ops and much higher than investor-owned utilities. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Saving you $$$ — We’re focused on cost-saving services in these challenging economic times. We’ve promoted load management to help lower wholesale power costs that affect your rates. We’ve updated our Touchstone Energy Home program to encourage energy-efficient construction. Our Co-op Connections discount card program continues to save Palmetto members money—well over $1 million in prescription costs alone, putting us in the top 10 among Touchstone Energy Cooperatives nationwide.

MyEnergy Online and on-the-go — We entered our second successful year with our web service, MyEnergy Online. Members can view their bill, sign up for alerts and reminders, view their payment history and pay bills. We also introduced a user-friendly app for Android and Applesmartphones so members can access their account on the go.

Here’s this year’s grand prize winner of the 2003 Ford Explorer, Ronnie Reynolds of Ridgeland, with his wife, Laura, and their grandson, Drew Willis.

Your peers, your leaders — Leadership from within the membership keeps co-ops strong. At the meeting, members returned four of their peers to their Board of Trustees—Henry Driessen Jr. (Beaufort County Position 2), James L. Rowe (Beaufort County Position 5), Terrell D. Smith (Hampton County Position 2), and Jeremiah E. Vaigneur (Jasper County Position 2). Board officers re-elected included Jeremiah E. Vaigneur, the chairman; C. Alex Ulmer, vice chairman; and Eunice F. Spilliards, secretary-treasurer.

Supporting youth — The co-op’s Women Involved in Rural Electrification (WIRE) organization, we announced, recently presented $1,000 college scholarships to Rakkira Fuller of Ridgeland Hardeeville High and Cornel Brantley of Estill High. We also recognized three high school juniors— Kara Klein and Evan Reier from Hilton Head Island High and Joseph Wilson from Wade Hampton High—who are representing Palmetto Electric on the Washington Youth Tour this month.

We’ll keep you posted on the co-op’s Facebook page as Kara, Evan and Joseph tour the nation’s capital. Meanwhile, we hope to see your smiling face at next year’s meeting.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.