A thank you to legislators

THERE ARE A lot of people that contribute to serving the members of Palmetto Electric Cooperative. In the past and especially over the last two years, our cooperative has benefitted significantly from our local legislators in Columbia and those representing us in Washington, D.C. They understand our mission to provide competitively priced, reliable energy and innovative related services to our members and to provide leadership and support to the communities we serve.

Many of our state leaders showed their commitment to cooperatives and local youth by participating in last year’s Virtual Youth Experience. Last June, U.S. Senators Lindsay Graham and Tim Scott, as well as U.S. Rep. Jim Clyburn and Gov. Henry McMaster discussed the day’s issues with teens selected by South Carolina cooperatives during the week-long web conference, which will be repeated this summer. We are appreciative of all these elected leaders, because we know they hear us when we’re speaking up for you.

Every time a new Congress convenes or our state legislature gavels in a new session, electric cooperatives have the opportunity to educate policymakers on issues that matter most to our members and the communities we serve. In just the last few years, members of your local legislative delegation and the General Assembly have listened as we spoke on your behalf regarding cooperative governance and transparency, rural broadband access, consumer protections for solar buyers and wholesale power costs.

The voice of South Carolina cooperatives is also valued by our U.S. senators and representatives on Capitol Hill. New legislative sessions have begun in 2021, and this issue of South Carolina Living is your guide to the men and women that represent you in Columbia and Washington, D.C. I would encourage you to make note of those, listed below, who represent our service area. We appreciate all they do!

State legislators who represent Palmetto Electric members

S.C. Senate

  • Sen. Brad Hutto: Dist. 40, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Colleton, Hampton and Orangeburg counties
  • Sen. George E. “Chip” Campsen, III: Dist. 43, Beaufort, Charleston and Colleton counties
  • Sen. Margie Bright Matthews: Dist. 45, Allendale, Beaufort, Charleston, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper counties
  • Sen. Tom Davis: Dist. 46, Beaufort and Jasper counties

S.C. House of Representatives 

  • Rep. William G. “Bill” Herbkersman: Dist. 118, Beaufort and Jasper counties
  • Rep. Wm. Weston J. Newton: Dist. 120, Beaufort and Jasper counties
  • Rep. Michael F. Rivers, Sr.: Dist. 121, Beaufort and Colleton counties
  • Rep. Shedron D. Williams: Dist. 122, Beaufort, Hampton and Jasper counties
  • Rep. Jeffrey A. “Jeff” Bradley: Dist. 123, Beaufort county
  • Rep. Shannon S. Erickson: Dist. 124, Beaufort county

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.