Students were front and center at Palmetto Electric Cooperative’s 2018 Annual Meeting, with announcements of local youth receiving scholarships and educational opportunities from the co-op.

Palmetto Electric PR Manager Missy Santorum (center) with students (from left) recognized at the co-op’s 2018 Annual Meeting, including: Palmetto Electric Trust Scholarship winners Quinn O’Leary, Hunter Spielman and Kassandra Anguiano; WIRE Scholarship winner Isabel Noriega; Washington Youth Tour and Cooperative Youth Summit delegates Byron DuBose and Bethany Neville; Youth Summit delegates Keandra Warren and Abby Smith; and Washington Youth Tour delegates Victoria Etheridge and Kelsey Darien. Not pictured are WIRE scholarship winners Alexa Jobst and Kelsey Wallace and Youth Tour delegate Isabel Muehleman.

Women Involved in Rural Electrification (WIRE), a community outreach organization affiliated with the co-op, presented three scholarships: Alexa Jobst from May River High School, Isabel Noriega from Ridgeland-Hardeeville High School and Kelsey Wallace from Hilton Head Island High School each received $1,000 scholarships.

The Palmetto Electric Trust, which administers member donations to Operation Round Up, awarded three scholarships. Receiving awards were: Kassandra Anguiano from Ridgeland-Hardeeville High School, Quinn O’Leary from John Paul II Catholic School and Hunter Spielman from Patrick Henry Academy.

The co-op also recognized five high school juniors who are set to take part in this month’s Washington Youth Tour. Scheduled to go to the nation’s capital are: Kelsey Darien from Ridgeland-Hardeeville High School, Victoria Etheridge from John Paul II Catholic School and Isabel Muehleman from Hilton Head Island High School, each sponsored by Palmetto Electric. Two local students who are children of co-op employees, Bethany Neville from Hilton Head Island High School and Byron DuBose from Legacy Christian Academy, were chosen by the state association of electric co-ops. The association coordinates the Youth Tour, and each year sponsors two students who are the children of employees of electric co-ops around the state.

Meanwhile, Muehleman, Neville and DuBose are among five rising seniors chosen for the Cooperative Youth Summit, a four-day educational trip to Columbia in July. Also selected for the event are: Abby Smith from Wade Hampton High School and Keandra Warren from Ridgeland-Hardeeville High School.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.