Celebrating commitment to community

I THINK WE can all agree that this year’s Annual Meeting was far from normal. While I certainly missed the opportunity to visit with all of you, I want to sincerely thank the 4,639 members who made the drive-thru registration and voting a success.

Drive-thru registration and voting was held Oct. 8-10 at our Ridgeland office.  Members were able to drive through, register and cast a vote for proposed bylaw changes and a voting district question. Palmetto employees were on hand to distribute registration gifts and assist members with any questions. Traffic flowed smoothly, and we were thrilled to see so many of you.   The votes were overwhelmingly in favor of both the bylaw changes and the existing means of electing directors.

Commitment to Community was the resounding theme of this year’s meeting, as we focused not only on past outreach efforts, but also what we will do for our members going forward. If you were not able to watch the business meeting online, here are some highlights from the 2019 Annual Report:

  • We have neared completion of a 15-year line-burial project on Hilton Head Island that saw the removal of more than 3,000 overhead utility poles.
  • We focused on safety initiatives for both employees and members. Palmetto Electric hosted Safety Days programs for more than 250 children in Ridgeland, Hampton and Hilton Head and was a winner of the 2019 President’s Safety Contest for our extraordinary efforts in the prevention of injuries and related loss.
  • The Operation Round Up (ORU) program celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2019. Since its inception in 1989, Palmetto Electric Trust has contributed more than $8 million in ORU grants in Beaufort, Hampton and Jasper counties, assisting individuals and organizations with food, shelter, clothing, healthcare and education needs. More than 327 electric cooperatives nationwide have adopted the program.
  • Four directors were elected to serve on the co-op board: Incumbents C. Alex Ulmer (Beaufort County, Position 3), Carolyn Grant (Beaufort County, Position 6), Gregory Cook (Hampton County, Position 3) and Dr. Earl Bostick (Jasper County, Position 3) all ran unopposed. Board officers re-elected included Jeremiah E. Vaigneur, chairman; C. Alex Ulmer, vice chairman; and Eunice F. Spilliards, secretary-treasurer.

No matter the circumstances, Palmetto Electric remains committed to our mission of service. Thank you to all our members for making our success possible.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.